Loading Events

« All Events

F*ck your Diet: Book Talk with Chloe Hilliard

January 22 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

$27
F*ck Your Diet and Other Things my Thighs Tell Me By Chloe Hilliard Book Talk

About this Event

Fans of Issa Rae’s The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl and Phoebe Robinson’s Don’t Touch My Hair will love Chloé’s introspective, irreverent book and its refreshing message that we are already good enough. Think of this as an anti-resolution rallying cry of NEW YEAR, NO NEED FOR A NEW YOU!

By the time Chloé Hilliard was 12, she wore a size 12—both shoe and dress—and stood over six feet tall. Fitting in was never an option. That didn’t stop her from trying. Cursed with a “slow metabolism,” “baby weight,” and “big bones,”—the fat trilogy—Chloe turned to fad diets, starvation, pills, and workouts, all of which failed.

Realizing that everything—from government policies to corporate capitalism—directly impacts our relationship with food and our waistlines, Chloé changed her outlook on herself and hopes others will do the same for themselves.

The perfect mix of cultural commentary, conspiracies, and confessions, F*ck Your Diet pokes fun at the all too familiar, misguided quest for better health, permanent weight loss, and a sense of self-worth.

CHLOÉ HILLIARD is a writer and comedian who first appeared as a semi-finalist on NBC’s Last Comic Standing and went on to appear on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, Comedy Central, MTV, VH1, and more. Prior to her comedy career, she was a culture and entertainment journalist whose work has been featured in The Village Voice, Essence, Vibe, and The Source. She also hosts her own podcast, Social Misfit with Chloé Hilliard.

Ticketing: Ticket proceeds support More Than Words, empowering system involved youth through job training and mentor ship. Tickets are available on a pay-what-you-can basis, and are not tax deductible donations. Set your own ticket price and receive a copy of the book when you give over $27.

Details

Date:
January 22
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Cost:
$27
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, ,
Website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/fck-your-diet-book-talk-with-chloe-hilliard-tickets-87757349595

Venue

More Than Words Warehouse Bookstore
242 East Berkley Street
Boston, MA 02118 United States

Organizer

More Than Words